IIASA Young Scientists Summer Program 2020 for Young Researchers (Fully-funded)

Deadline: January 11, 2020

The International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA) is accepting applications for the 2020 Young Scientists Summer Program (YSSP) for Young Researchers. This is an annual 3-month program that offers research opportunities to talented young researchers whose interests correspond with IIASA’s ongoing research on issues of global environmental, economic, and social change.

From June through August accepted participants work within the Institute’s research programs under the guidance of IIASA scientific staff. Funding is provided through IIASA’s National Member Organizations.

Participants will be working under the direct supervision of an experienced IIASA scientist in a unique interdisciplinary and international research environment. They will produce a paper (serving as first step towards a publishable journal article) and will get the opportunity to build up contacts for future collaboration within IIASA’s worldwide network.

Program Areas

  • Air Quality and Greenhouse Gases
  • Advanced Systems Analysis
  • Ecosystem Services and Management
  • Energy
  • Evolution and Ecology
  • Risk and Resilience
  • Transitions to New Technologies
  • Water
  • World Population


Most of IIASA’s National Member Organizations (NMOs) provide grants to enable young scientists (either their own nationals or foreign students studying in their country) to participate in the YSSP. All successfully selected applicants will receive notification about funding shortly after the evaluation process.

Awards for YSSP Participants

The awards are given annually for outstanding work by participants in IIASA’s Young Scientists Summer Program. They provide financial support for the winners to return to IIASA for an additional three months of research.

  • The Peccei Award was established in 1984 in recognition of Dr. Aurelio Peccei’s contribution to the understanding of global problems and his efforts to promote multi-national collaborative research.
  • The Mikhalevich Award was established in 1995 following the death of Academician Vladimir S. Mikhalevich, who at that time was Chairman of the IIASA Council.


  • The program is designed for PhD students (ideally about 2 years prior to receiving their PhD) working on a field compatible with ongoing research at IIASA and a wish to explore the policy implications of their work.
  • Applicants from all countries are welcome, although IIASA gives priority to citizens or residents of NMO countries.
  • Austria, Brazil, China, Egypt, Finland, Germany, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Norway, Republic of Korea, Russia, South Africa, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam


  • Candidates apply via the online application form (find the ‘APPLY NOW’ banner on the right side during the application period).
  • Applicants can chose 1-2 programs. If there is additional interest in one of their flagship projects, this can be indicated in the box provided in the application form (under “please justify your choice of programs here”). They strongly encourage contacting the various program representatives and carefully read through all program descriptions before making your decision.
  • Participation in the YSSP is only possible for one summer (however, you may apply several times).

ATTENTIONBrazilian candidates must apply on the CAPES website in order to qualify for CAPES funding

Source: click here

Leave A Comment?