ASEAN – Australia – New Zealand (AANZFTA) Trade Agreement

NameASEAN – Australia – New Zealand (AANZFTA)
MembersASEAN Member States (Brunei Darussalam – Cambodia – Indonesia – Laos – Malaysia – Myanmar – the Philippines -Singapore – Thailand – Vietnam) – Australia – New Zealand.
Type of agreementMultilateral Free Trade Agreement
Date of signatureFebruary 27, 2009
Current StatusOn-going
Key points1. Tariffs are progressively reduced from entry into force of the Agreement, and eliminated for at least 90% of all tariff lines within specified timelines.
2. Movement of goods are facilitated via a more modern and flexible rules of origin, simplified customs procedures, and more transparent mechanisms.
3. Barriers to trade in services are progressively liberalised allowing for greater market access to service suppliers in the region.
4. Covered investments will be accorded a range of protection, including the possibility of dealing with disputes via an investor-state dispute settlement mechanism.

For more details, kindly check the link in references.

1. ASEAN – Australia – New Zealand (AANZFTA) Trade Agreement, accessed November 2020,

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave A Comment?