CARICOM – Dominican Republic Trade Agreement

NameCARICOM – Dominican Republic
MembersAntigua and Barbuda – Bahamas – Barbados – Belize –Dominica – Grenada – Guyana – Haiti – Jamaica – Montserrat – Saint Kitts and Nevis – Saint Lucia – Saint Vincent and the Grenadines – Suriname – Trinidad and Tobago – Dominican Republic
Type of agreementMultilateral Free Trade Agreement
Date of signatureAugust 22, 1998
Current StatusOn-going
Key points1. The Agreement provides for the immediate elimination of duties or the phasing out of duties on all goods except for products which might be identified as sensitive. 
2. For those products not eligible for duty free treatment, the agreement provides for a phased reduction of duty for some by 2004 and the most favoured nation treatment for the remainder.  It also covers services, investment and government procurement.
3. All goods can be imported into the DR duty free or benefit from the phased reduction of tariffs to zero, with the exception of certain goods for which MFN duties will apply.

For more details, kindly check the link in references.

1. CARICOM – Dominican Republic Trade Agreement, , accessed December 2020,

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave A Comment?