SADC Trade Agreement

MembersAngola – Botswana – Lesotho – Malawi – Mauritius – Mozambique – Namibia – South Africa – Swaziland – Tanzania – Zambia – Zimbabwe
Type of agreementMultilateral Free Trade Agreement
Date of signatureAugust 24, 1996
Current StatusOn-going
Key points1. Most customs duties had been eliminated on goods from the participating Member States (i.e. about 85% of goods attained zero duty in January 2008) and a Common Tariff System was applied to import of goods from non-Member States.
2. External tariff against non-member countries to the free internal trade within the area. The eventual goal is a SADC Common Market, which has the benefits of free internal trade, a common tariff, and free movement of labour and capital among Member States.
3. Gradual elimination of customs duties on 85% of tariff lines by 2008 and with tariffs on the remaining ‘sensitive products’ being eliminated by 2012.

For more details, kindly check the link in references.

1. SADC Trade Agreement, accessed November 2020,

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave A Comment?